This museum exhibits the fabulous artwork of artist Henri
Matisse. After the artist died in 1954, this museum containing
his new work was established in a 17th century villa in the
Cimiez area of Nice.
Surrounded by an olive garden, this museum has a collection
of paintings spanning the length of Henri Matisse's career;
the museum includes many of Matisse's drawings, bronze sculptures,
paintings, and cut out compositions.
This colorful Italian building spread along the Chateau Park,
gives a spectacular view of the city from the tiled rooftop.
Lined up along the tiny streets, the building dates back to
the 17th and 18th centuries. At night, the view can be breathtaking
with the entire city lit up with light.
You can even wander around the streets of Vieux Nice to discover
hidden art galleries, churches and boutiques, or just relax
in one of the cafés nearby.
Promenade des Anglais
The Promenade des Anglais is Nice's most famous street. This
palm-lined street was built in the 19th century for English
residents to stroll along the sea front.
Wander along the narrow street lying next to the seafront
for views over the Mediterranean, admire the grand hotels,
or take a glimpse of travelers going around the world through
the Mediterranean Sea.
Restaurants and hotels can be found in abundance next to the
street. Visitors can enjoy their coffee or snacks while peeking
at people out in the street.
PARC FORESTIER du MONT-BORON
The 142 acres pathway is ideal place for taking a stroll.
Covered in Aleppo pines, this 11 km park is the green lung
of Nice, its surface is of 570 000 m². It rises with
178 meters with the mount Boron in the south and 222 meters
with the Alban mount in north.
In the middle Ages, the hill was shaven to prevent the possible
The pathway displays rare species of flowers, wild plants,
and miniature carnations.
It is a favorite haunt for joggers, botany fans and casual
strollers, who come to admire the magnificent view of St.
Jean Cap Ferrat to the east and the Baie des Anges to the
Le PALAIS de la PRÉFECTURE
Formerly called the "Palais Royal" was built at
the begininng of the 17th century to accomodate the Governors
and Princes of Savoy when they came to stay in Nice. After
Nice was reunified with the rest of France in 1860, the building
became the headquarters of the "Préfecture des
Alpes-Maritimes". Since the inauguration of the new administrative
centre to the west of Nice, it has been home to the President
of the General Council and the Prefect of the Alpes-Maritimes.
At n° 18 rue de la Prefecture, there is a very fine house
dating back to the 16th century.